Forestry Department Wins Best Decorated Public Office Award

Photo credit: JIS   Office Services Officer, Forestry Department, Mrs. Gloria Anderson collecting winning trophy for the Best Decorated Office in the Public Sector by Acting Executive Director, Jamaica Cultural Development Commission (JCDC), Mrs. Marjorie Leyden-Vernon (left) . At centre is Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Culture, Gender, Entertainment and Sport, Mrs. Alison McLean.

The Forestry Department wiped out its competitors to win the Jamaica Cultural Development Commission's (JCDC) Spirit of Independence Competition for the Best Decorated Office in the public sector.

The Agency's offices were decked out in the national colours of black, gold and green, with accents of bandana to reflect the 2016 festival fashion theme, “Wear it Gold, Stripe it Bold”. 

In addition to the decorations, an independence village was constructed on the front lawn of the Agency's head office which displayed Jamaican artifacts that were commonly used by local households before and after independence. 

Manager of the Administrative Branch, Mr. Marcus Gordon, says he is happy that the Agency walked away the winner and wishes to commend the staff for their hard work in getting the offices decorated in time for submission. “Though the work took longer than we had anticipated, the staff was dedicated and worked tirelessly to get the work done. The creativity is just astounding and I hope that come next year, if we enter, we will get even more support to ensure that the title comes back to the Forestry Department,” Mr. Gordon said.

The entries were judged on creativity, neatness, appeal and use of the theme. The winners in the other categories were: Mayberry Investments for best decorated office in the private sector; the parish of St. Catherine for best decorated town square; and for the media houses who promoted the Emancipation and Independence celebrations, CVM won for television, RJR for radio and the Jamaica Observer for print.

The winners were announced in an awards ceremony at the Devonshire, St. Andrew, on Thursday, September 15, 2016.